Monday, April 19, 2010

No excuse.

There really is no excuse for letting all these months pass by without posting. I have been avoiding posting, because I have been avoiding being accountable for my weight loss.

I have lost weight. 17 pounds, total. And I already have slimmed down from a size 16 to a size 14. So, I'm doing well. But not well enough. Last week I went to the gym for the first time in a month and a half. That's six whole weeks with hardly any exercise! That's just rediculous.

At least now that Spring is here, I can begin to get out of the house to be more active. Like, I'm going to the gym this afternoon. And I'll be hiking tomorrow. And my friends and I are even planning a trip to Orlando, FL the last weekend of June, so we'll be helping each other on weight loss goals so we can feel more confident at the beach.

Yeah, I've been slacking for a while now, but I'm ready to jump back on the wagon. Wish me luck!

Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Still lazy.

I still have yet to properly work on my goals. I'm still being lazy.

Be in bed by midnight: Ha. Yeah, once this week? My friends and I never seem to get together earlier than eight o'clock on any given day, so I've been putting off going to bed in favor of hanging out. I really should change that.
Be up by 10: Eh. Some days I've been up by nine. Others 11. But I have managed to get up before noon, which is an improvement.
Eat breakfast: Four times? Again, an improvement, but not quite there.
Replace sprite with water: Well, aside from tonight, I haven't been drinking any Sprite. But I haven't really been replacing it, either. So, pretty much no improvement.
I also still weigh 198 pounds.

So, I guess it's been a week of stagnation. I'll keep the same goals until I reach them, but I'll also add more gym time, even if it's only once a week, because really did feel better, and lose weight faster when I exercised.

In completely unrelated news, though, I actually sat down today to spend time finding potential jobs, an then sending out resumes. I'm pretty proud of myself.

Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Motivation.

I'm having a difficult time getting myself motivated enough to go to the gym, or eat healthily, or do much of anything. My weight is back up to 198 pounds, but I'm not surprised. My eating habits include some fruit, but I still consume way too much sugar and fat and carbs and cheese (I'm lactose intolerant, so eating massive amounts of cheese is really just a no-no for me.) I haven't even been to the gym since a few days after Corey's trip to the hospital three weeks ago.

It would be easy for me to claim that because I feel so overwhelmed by my to-do list, which includes getting a job, fixing my car, and saving money to work on a cruse ship (which, unfortunately has an upfront cost associated wth it), that I can't focus on eating right, or going to the gym three times a week. But that's an excuse. Of course I can, I'm just being lazy, and allowing that to hold me back.

Goals for this week:
-Be in bed by midnight, television and computer off.
-Be awake and out of bed by 10.
-Eat breakfast.
-Substitute one can of Sprite Zero with one bottle of water each day.

Sunday, January 3, 2010

Oh, the humanity!

These holidays were a complete disaster from a health standpoint. Fun? Absolutely! And I'm so thankful I have friends in my life who can look out for me, laugh with me, during those three stressful weeks my brother was in the hospital. (More on that later, when I feel like posting a novel...because it's a pretty fucked up story)

But I still ate WAY too much. And not even WAY too many vegetables. Or WAY too much turkey. But WAY too many cookies, and WAY too much chocolate. And a whole bunch of liquor, too, but that was pretty fun. I don't even regret the beer calories.

I need to get back on track, though. The eating healthily should come easily enough, now that Corey's home and the rest of the family is on board with eating right. But the exercise? I'm well aware that the gym is going to be packed now with people starting their New Year's Resolutions (of which, have I ever mentioned, I'm not a big fan? If you're going to do something, do it. January 1st isn't any more special than September 17.), and I'm just not keen to go. That, and I really need a massage. I haven't been in at least a month, and these trigger points in my rhomboids and trapezius are doing some pretty mean restricting of my range of motion. Heck! My shoulder pops everytime I bring my arm around!

Okay, okay. I'm done whining. I know I just need to get my butt up and do it. I'll probably stop whining so much once I'm actually working towards my health anyway.